The Hawaiian Islands:

The Hawaiian Archipelago consists of eight main high islands which include Maui, Hawaii, Oahu, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai, Niihau and Kahoolawe. The entire state of Hawaii actually consist of 132 islands, reefs and shoals extending over a 1500 mile range.

Island of Maui:

The island of Maui is home to many famous attractions including the Haleakala (Ha-lay-ah-ja-lah) Crater the world’s largest dormant volcano, the old whaling town of Lahaina, the road to Hana, and Kaanapali Beach. All these sites are a must see while visiting.

Maui’s Climate and Weather:

Maui’s climate differences between the summer and winter seasons are very mild making it a popular vacation spot. The air temperature averages a comfortable 80° Fahrenheit (27°C) year round.

Summer: (May to October): Air temperature averages 80° (26.6°C) – 90°F (32.2°C) and the water temperature ranges between 75°(23.8°C) – 80°F (26.6°C).

Winter: (November to April): Air temperature averages 77° (25°C)- 86°F (30°C)and the water temperature ranges between 72° (22.2°C)- 76°F (24.4°C). Don’t let the season “winter” fool you, Maui still boasts some of the most pleasant weather even during this time of year. The Kihei/Wailea area receives only 12 inches, Hana receives about 90 inches per year while the mountain areas can get over 300 inches of rainfall per year. Most rain occurs on the North coast of Maui providing breath taking waterfalls and a plethora of beautiful flora and fauna.

Maui’s Micro Climates:

Because of the variation in Maui’s terrain be prepared to experience numerous climate changes when traveling to higher ground and/or to the crater to watch the sunrise. Temperatures on the shady sides of the island and the crater can dip below 60F (15.5°C).

Local Time: